top of page
  • Writer's pictureKathrino

Veronica and George Project - Pitches

The original pitches for each animation for my 'Veronica and George Series Project'

 

Week 1 - 'The Frog Pond'


The animation will show start by us seeing a frog sitting on a big lily pad. The frog puts his goggles on and prepares to dive into the water by breathing in and getting into the diving position. The frog makes the jump and makes a large splash.


Similar to my 'Cat' animation from last year, I will be using similar techniques without traditionally making it.

The animation won't be rotoscoped to allow me to practice animating, however each individual frame will use mark making techniques with a recurrent colour scheme throughout the animation.

I will attempt to use more experimental brushes and be looser with my line to achieve a more textural effect.


Week 2 - 'Body Positivity'


The animation will promote body positivity and be relatable to a female audience. The plant person (assumed Veronica), will be scrolling through her social media feed similar to an Instagram feed. The women on her page show confidence in their bodies and the plant lady will like the post. Soon after liking a phone call will pop up with a strong, looming, ringtone titled 'insecurity'. The person will hesitate but also be shocked by the sudden call, however she hangs up and goes back to the social media feed.


Using the skills from the previous animation, it will use rougher pencil lines and a textural overlay through the texturiser feature in TV Paint. The shot will focus on only a hand and phone with the thumb being rotoscoped to achieve a smoother movement. I will use After Effects to create a seamless scrolling effect and like of the post.


Week 3 - 'Pancake Day'


This animation will be of my previously featured, ginger cat, George. George will be watching the pancake be shook around the frying pan, he'll watch as the pancake goes up into the air past him. Looking around above him, from left to right he will be puzzled to where the pancake had flown off to. After giving up the search, he'll return to a sitting position until suddenly the pancake drops onto his head with a flop. George looks into the distance in obvious annoyance and pushes the pancake back into the frying pan.


I will create the frying pan moving through After Effects and animate both the cat and pancake through TV Paint.


Week 4 - 'Treating TV Paint like a Sketchbook'


A key bit of feedback I have been receiving is there is a strong difference between my work in my sketchbook and my animated drawing. It was suggested to me to treat TV Paint like a sketchbook to try to get used to the brushes, be more experimental and have more fun with the process.


For this weeks animation, I will attempt to animate from a blank page in TV Paint and experiment with the brushes to improve the confidence of my overall work. I will look through my sketchbooks for things to develop an animate and also look at other artists work for inspiration.


Week 5 - 'A Normal Day on the Street'


For this animation I want to create an animation similar to and an introduction shot seen of TV shows like, 'Friends' and 'Bojack Horseman' . In Bojack horseman, they often have gags in between scenes usually based on the animals, e.g. a dog valet throwing and chasing the keys to a car he's recently parked.


For this animation, I want to create a scene with lots of animals and creatures living in Veronica and George's world. I want the street/city to feel real and busy, and to be used as a future introductory shot if I develop the Veronica and George series in the future. A gag I have thought of is a giraffe walking through the street with only her neck showing. I also want to attempt a new way of working by coming up with the ideas when the background is finishes so it gives me inspiration on what could happen on the stage I have created.


To attempt to make the characters sit even better in the environment, I plan on outlining them with a white outline to make them appear like they're part of a digital moving collage. I will also implement After Effects to animate cars moving across the stage to sell the idea of it being in a city.


Week 6 - 'Animated Logo'


I have recently changed my logo for my branding and felt it was important for me to take it a step further, and animate the logo.

To create the logo I looked at other companies that I want to contact in the future for opportunities, then looked at my original branding to ensure that I didn't stray too far from what I originally had.


For this week, I want to use my logo and animate it. In the future I want to use this animation within my Showreel, as an introduction to my brand. A few things I could animate for this are: making the leaves to appear to grow up the face, blink of the eye, writing of my name 'Kathrino' and the feathers moving.


Week 6 - 'Lets go to the park on Saturday'


For this animation I wanted to develop the layout and style of the animation 'A Normal Day on the Street' . As the previous project was a success with the white outline and creating backgrounds first to generate ideas, I will use this technique again.


In the animation I want to definitely include things you would see at a park: bikes, a picnic and dogs. I want the animation to be more child friendly, fun with comedic elements.

In the street animation, I wanted to include the ants stealing from the bin but didn't include as at the time I was unsure how I'd pull it off. For the park animation I want to have the ants stealing picnic items, which I previously drew in the sketchbook page, which inspired this and the previous street animation. I will animate the ants through TV Paint then add the picnic things through After Effects.


Week 7 - 'The Fair's in Town'


Combining everything I have done in the street and park animations, I want to create an animation with a circus theme.


For this animation I will again start with the background and props to then develop my ideas for this animation. I want to develop from my previous animation to make this animation directed at children. To direct towards children, I plan to have a key character like a child because in all my previous animation I have drawn adults and it'll be challenging to animate a child's performance as they'll move more bouncier.

Characters which I want to include are: a clown and a child. Once I have my stage I will then begin to think how these characters will react with each other and their surroundings.

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page