top of page
  • Writer's pictureKathrino

Artistic Styles and Movements - Influences

From the more obvious influences to the more obscure, various styles and movements which influence my artwork.

 

Feminism


The most obvious and key influence to my work is: feminism.

As a woman, I really relate to the movement and want to inspire other women to find their own strengths through: body positivity, not feeling like an object, and just generally wanting equality.

In a previous blog post title: "Normalizing the Female Body" I spoke about the reasons I draw my character Veronica and what she represents to me and what I want her to do for other people.

In the image above I wanted to subtlety normalize things like: stretch marks, body hair, body size and just feeling comfortable in your own body. Some things are more obvious then others, but in the piece I like when you look closer you did see these more minor details in the illustration.

 

Oaxacan Wood Carving


This style of sculpture and mark making originated from the state of Oaxacan in South Mexico.

I found this style of sculpture over summer and like the use of colours and mark making of them. I have used the style to create my own simple sculptures with this sort of style and also use the same style throughout my illustrations.

My own clay sculptures exploring mark making and colour
 

Anthropomorphism


Another key influence to a lot of the work I do is Anthropomorphism (I know its a big word!). Essentially what it is, is giving animals characteristics similar to people or literally giving an animal a human body.

I was first introduced to this style through the TV show 'Bojack Horseman' - wow where I have heard that from before? The artist behind the style Lisa Hanawalt often works in anthropomorphism, and is one of the key influences within my own work which I have spoken about in my previous post "Artist Influences".

 

Shape Language (Basic Shapes, circles, squares, etc.)


I never really thought about using shapes in my work until last year when we had to make 100 silhouettes only from circles and squares - it was a lot of work but it did make me think about shape within my future work.

From doing this project last year, it really made me realise how many of the artists I follow actually use this shape language in their own work.

Circles and Squares Final Composition
 

Vector Art


Maybe it's because I'm lazy or because I like the style, or maybe a bit of both.

But I think the simplicity of vector art has some real charm about it which is a key influence to some of my work.

 

Texture and Mark Making


As a previous Fine Art Student, I do love art with any texture and mark making within it. My previous background in art was a lot of traditional art through: paint, pen, watercolour, and anything which you could create varied texture.

I still enjoy create work in my sketchbook which is probably which I still want to include some sort of texture within my digital art.

I have also made a Pinterest board with mark making that I could use for inspiration for my future work:


 

Anymore other obscure styles and movements I follow through my work I will add to my Pinterest board throughout the year:


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page