top of page
  • Writer's pictureKathrino

Artist Influences

A list of Artists and Illustrators that I take inspiration from for my own work.

 

Lisa Hanawalt

I would say that Lisa Hanawalt is my biggest inspiration for the work I do. Her work focuses on animals, plants, feminism and is humorously quirky.

I first found out about Lisa Hanawalt through watching 'Bojack Horseman'. Bojack Horseman, on Netflix, is a show I hold close to my heart (which I will probably talk about in a future blog post!)

Concept Art of Bojack by Lisa Hanawalt
Concept Art of Bojack by Lisa Hanawalt

Lisa then went onto work on 'Tuca and Bertie'. Tuca and Bertie, like Bojack Horseman, focuses on issue in society with humour. Unlike Bojack Horseman, the show is more experimental with its style and focuses a lot on feminist issues: which was the biggest inspiration to my own work.

An example of a clear influence of the show is 'Draca' a plant lady, she inspired my own design for 'Veronica' my own plant lady.

Veronica and George

'Coyote Doggirl' is a illustrative book Lisa made that inspired me to approach my own Animation differently. The compositions in the book are laid out to appear like it could be an animation, but the format is a book with some text and illustrations.

Her compositional styles in this book is something I want to apply to my own project '5 Seconds a Week' however my chosen medium will be through animation.

The key points from Lisa Hanawalt's work, that have influenced my own work, are the following:

  • Character design

  • Themes : Feminism, comedy, social issues

  • Mark making and texture

  • Using various medias to create art

  • Having fun

  • Composition

  • Background design

References:

  1. BoJack Horseman (Tv Show) : 2014-2020

  2. BoJack Horseman: The Art Before the Horse (Book) : 2018

  3. Tuca and Bertie (Tv Show) : 2019 -

  4. Coyote Doggirl (Book) : 2018

  5. My Dirty Dumb Eyes (Book) : 2013

  6. Hot Dog Taste Test (Book) ; 2016

  7. http://www.lisahanawalt.com/ (Website)

 

Carolyn Gavin


I think Carolyn Gavin, an Illustrator I found through Instagram, is a big influence for me to experiment with mark making, texture and just having fun with my own art.

Her art is based on mostly nature, through plants and animals. Carolyn main medium is brightly coloured watercolour, similar to my own work.

My Mark Making Page

The key points from Carolyn Gavin's work, that have influenced my own work, are the following:

  • Texture and mark making

  • Keeping it fun

  • Experimentation

  • Colour

References:

 

Celeste Mountjoy (Filthy Ratbag)


Similar to Lisa Hanawalt, Celeste Mountjoy's (also know as Filthy Ratbag) work is based on comedically highlighting issues within society whilst also having a quirky humour.

I like the simplicity of her work, because it highlights the written point being made which I could use in my own work in the future.

The key points from Filthy Ratbag's work, that have influenced my own work, are the following:

  • Themes : Feminism, comedy, social issues

  • Use of limited colours

  • Use of text, alongside illustration

References:

 

Donna Wilson


It's quite funny that I found out about Donna Wilson over summer when needing a reusable bag in a Tesco. The bag was simple but the message strong, "Save our oceans".

After shopping, I researched the artist and started following her own Instagram. She uses her unique character designs for all sorts of pieces of art: bags, rugs, dolls, mugs and so much more.

The way Donna takes her work and makes it into something profitable is very inspiring. I found the artist through a product in a shop, which is something any artist would be proud of.

Similar to other artists I'm influenced by, Donna Wilson's work looks like it was fun making and that's something I always want my own work to be.

If you don't have fun making something, I do think it shows through the confidence of the drawing.

The key points from Donna Wilson's work, that have influenced my own work, are the following:

  • Unique character designs

  • Turning art into a profit

  • Ways of advertising your work

  • Use of colours

  • Simplicity, yet effectiveness of design

  • Themes: environmental issues

References:

 

Izzy Burton


I found Izzy Burton last year when we asked to bring in an animation to show our peers. The animation I chose was 'Via' by Izzy Burton. The animation was simple and was like a moving illustration (then again I guess that's what all animation is in the end!)

The animation is simple, just characters moving through a massive environment, with spoken narration.

The key points from Izzy Burton's work, that have influenced my own work, are the following:

  • Illustration with subtle animation

  • Making the environment much bigger then the character

  • Simple audio to carry a story through

  • Background Designs

References:

  1. www.izzyburton.co.uk (Website)

  2. VIA (Video) : vimeo.com/242073421

 

Richard Hogg


Richard Hogg was the brilliant artist behind the game 'Hohokum'. Hohokum is a simple designed game but the art style is what makes it stunning. It's like an interactive vector animation.

The game focuses on environmental issues, colour, sound, movement and everything an artist could draw inspiration for.

To be honest, I don't know much about Richard Hogg's art outside the game however his style within the game is simply brilliant.


The key points from Richard Hogg's work and Hohokum, that have influenced my own work, are the following:

  • Stylistically

  • Simplicity in sound and movement

  • Colour

  • Playfulness

  • Using basic shapes to create characters

  • Background design

References:

  1. Hohokum E3 Trailer (PS4) | E3 2013 (Video) : www.youtube.com/watch?v=VSZ0cLRJWqk

  2. h099.com (Website)

 

All the artists I have mentioned are obvious influences to my own work, but there are many more then this.

I use both Instagram and Pinterest to get my key influences, and I have made a Pinterest board which I will keep adding to when I find more influences.


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page